Thursday, February 21, 2008

Why are there eighteen elements - Part 2

This section will have three parts, in the second part here we will go through two thirds of the answer.

ལུས། lus means body. However, here it is actually the Tibetan word used for the Sanskrit term deha which is the six objects: eye, ear, tongue, body and mental organ.

དང་། dang is a particle, a conjunctive particle. As the name implies, there's a conjunction between the words to the right and what's on the left. So a translator should always use something that binds together. Using the word and is a good choice, using commas is less binding so I think that should not be used.

ཡོཨུངས་སུ། yongs su is an expression: completely.གཟུང་བ། gzung ba is objectification -- to apprehend an object, or to grasp to objects. However here it actually is referring to sense objects and their appropriation. The reason is that this whole part is a translation of the Sanskrit term parigraha which is the six objects: visible form, sound, odor, taste, tangibility and mental objects.

གཉིས། gnyis means two, ཀྱིས། kyis is an instrumental particle, translate here as by.

If you have kept count, we have the two, and each had six parts, so we are up to twelve, we need six more. That's in the next section, as well as it will have one of the longest Sanskrit terms I've personally ever encountered.


Evan Osherow said...

Hi Kent. Thanks for doing this blog. I learn so much by reading your work. Please keep it going.

One correction. Currently you have: gnyis means two, gnyis is an instrumental particle, translate here as by.

I think you may want to replace the second gnyis with kyis. Right?

Thanks again.

Kent Sandvik said...

Oops. Thanks, fixed it.