Monday, January 28, 2008

First Four Sense Bases

As a lot of words we have gone through before, we will take four sense spheres at a time. If unsure, just go back in time in this blog and you will find the words described. Or those who have already read the earlier postings, this is a good time to see if you could recognize the words used in a somewhat different context!

mig is eye so the first is the eye sense base (caksur-ayatana.)

gzugs is form so the second is the form sense base (rupa-ayatana.)

rna ba is is ear so the third is the ear sense base (srotr-ayatana.)

sgra is sound so the fourth is the sound sense base (shabd-ayatana.)

I think you are already seeing a pattern, eye and form, ear and sound. Abhidharma-Samuccaya has more about this all then later.


Anonymous said...

Dear Sir,

Sorry to be anonymous, because I know you don't like messages coming from nobody in particular.

Years ago my lama tried a number of times to explain the Tibetan version of ayatana, and every time I failed to understand what role this 'thing' (?) might play in the psychology/physiology of perception. What does it do? Why is it needed? What does it account for?

I just read the very substantial Wiki article on ayatana:

and I still don't feel any wiser.

Can you wise me up? Can anyone?


Kent Sandvik said...

Stay tuned for the next posting. I will explain it, as it's explained much later inside Abhidharma-Samuccaya, but I was also thinking that it's good to mention it here already.