Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Why are there eighteen elements - Part 3

This is the second part for why there are eighteen elements.

འདས་པ། 'das pa here means past. དང་ dang is a conjunctive particle, translate it as 'and.'

ལྟར། ltar means likewise. གྱི་ gyi is a genitive particle.

ཉེ་བ། nye ba means close, to approach. The ར r is a general sub-ordination particle.

སྤོད་པ། spyod pa is a word used in many contexts, here it's engagement, to enact. Anyway, we need to read these two words together, as ཉེ་བར་སྤྱོད་པ། nye bar spyod pa means to use, to enjoy.

རྣམ་པ། rnam pa here is division or class. དྲུག drug is number six. འཛིན་པ།  'dzin pa means grasp, to hold on. It has a genitive particle at the end, འི 'i. ཕྱིར། phyir means because, and this is a proper sentence ending so it ends with རོ ro.

Anyway, I must confess that just looking at the Tibetan so far would be a very mysterious thing, unless one found out for example from a Sanskrit-Tibetan-Sanskrit dictionary that this all is really a translation for the following Sanskrit term: atitavartamanasadakaropabhogadharanata
What that word means is: the six consciousnesses, visual auditory, olfactory, gustatory, tactile and mental.

Or, to puzzle this together, this is the parts of past and current experiences via the six consciousnesses. As this adds together with the first twelve we mentioned earlier, we have eighteen elements.

Next, about the twelve sense spheres.

No comments: